top of page

Iso-Principle and Mood Changes

After work today, I came home and cried. Sometimes you just have those days where you feel completely overwhelmed and stressed out, and work just makes it worse because everyone else is stressed out and overwhelmed. I really try and keep a positive attitude and influence those around me to think about the "bright side", but today I felt quiet and unable to speak out. I got home and immediately turned on music that was mellow and calm, and that I could cry and release all my emotions into. Music has always been a safe and comforting space for me to let it all go.

When I run sessions with my patients, I often ask the question, "how many of you tend to listen to music that matches the mood you're currently in?" Almost every single person raises their hand without fail. In fact, about 90% of human beings listen to music that fits the mood they're in. There's a reason for this: music is validating. Listening to a sad song when you're sad can help you feel understood; as if someone else gets you and feels the same way. But naturally, we as humans tend to take this good thing and turn it upside down. Listening to 15-20 depressing songs when you're feeling depressed ends up feeding the mood you're in, not actually alleviating it. I wanted to find a way to address this misconception, so I came up with this idea using our famous Iso-Principle. I call it The Mood Playlist!

For those of you who have no previous understanding of Iso-Principle, please read here:

“[Iso-principle is] a technique by which music is matched with the mood of a client, then gradually altered to affect the desired mood state. This technique can also be used to affect physiological responses such as heart rate and blood pressure” (Davis, Gfeller, & Thaut, 2008).

This is typically used in live music making most effectively- but I have adapted this concept so that my patients can take home a "coping tool" to use when they're not at the hospital. I feel like this is typically the biggest problem with inpatient hospitalization-- my patients are learning a lot but struggle to find a way to adapt Music Therapy concepts to their every day lives.

I describe this process as follows: A mood playlist is a list of songs that start off matching the mood you're currently feeling, and slowly changes toward a more positive mood state so that you're mood improves as you listen. Of course this means that the patients have to be aware of WHAT they're actually feeling, which we practice in group. This is probably the hardest part-- "when you hear this song, what feeling comes to mind?" They often take minutes to answer, or can't answer at all.

You try it. Listen to the song "Warning Sign" by Coldplay. What mood does that make you feel? Be specific. (This is also a chance for my patients to recognize whether or not a song is a trigger for them. Trigger songs are necessary to recognize. You NEVER want to purposefully trigger yourself. Not a good idea.)

Here is an example of a mood playlist I created for the winter time when I have a hard time getting out of bed.

Lethargic to Energetic

  1. Jars of Clay- Fall Asleep

  2. Shawn McDonald- Pour Out

  3. John Mayer- Dear Marie

  4. The Lumineers- Stubborn Love

  5. Billy Joel- You’re My Home

  6. Carole King- Beautiful

  7. REM- Stand

  8. The Script- Superheroes

  9. Sugarhill Gang Apache- Jump on it

Notice how all the songs become more and more energetic and positive as they progress. Our mood matches to the music, and it helps improve how we feel! Often times, if we listen to a song that feels very happy and bright and we are feeling sad, it comes across as annoying and fake. This is a fun and unique way to teach a coping skill and also help patients improve their emotional awareness. After all, it really can be hard to answer the question: how do you feel in this moment?


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page