top of page

Day 1

Well, it's official. I am a blogger. I am excited and nervous about this entire process, as I have never really been a big writer, and definitely have had difficulty expressing my feelings and thoughts on paper over the years. Practice makes perfect, however, and I'm thankful to be able to write about what I love!

This dream grew from a desire to advocate for Music Therapy, but also to provide a source of information for those working within the psychiatric population practicing Music Therapy. When I graduated from my internship, I realized that there just wasn't enough information or resources for mental health, and it left me reeling a few times when I felt like my creative juices were running dry (As I have always been the only Music Therapist on my team). I always found the same session ideas- lyric analysis/discussion, listening to music for relaxation, or drumming. There is such an abundance of resources for those working in special needs, nursing homes, with children in general, but little for adult psych. I want to help and also provide a forum to discuss all of this! I want to show people what it is like to have a Music Mentality. And thus, this blog was born.

I never thought I would work in psych--let alone with adults! Throughout college, all I heard was "you definitely will work with kids. You're so bubbly and energetic!" I felt pigeon holed, and I honestly didn't feel comfortable with the verbal piece that was involved in psych, so I focused my energy on children. This all changed during my internship at Florida Hospital Orlando, with my incredible supervisor Rich Abante Moats. She challenged me in ways I couldn't imagine, teaching me how to process with adults and children undergoing terminal illness, providing Music Therapy as palliative care, creating session plans for groups in the psych facility, and learning how to be flexible and think on my feet (through many many tears). It was here that my love for working with adults and providing the counseling piece was strengthened. When I returned home, I knew I had to work with adults either within a medical setting or inpatient psych.

This has not always been easy, but it has been an adventure. I have learned to be assertive, confident and creative. My patients have taught me how to love even bigger than I ever thought I could, and I have seen music work in miraculous and unexplainable ways. I am excited to share my experiences, my adventures, and my knowledge with you-- but also to learn from you as well. Welcome to The Music Mentality.


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page